Brett Easton Ellis Working On A Script For Kanye West

brett easton ellis

Yes, you did read that headline right. Brett Easton Ellis, the infamous author of Rules of Attraction and American Psycho has recently come out in an interview and said that he is working on a film script for everyone’s favourite award show interrupter, Kanye West.

kanye west

 This isn’t the first time that Ellis has ventured into the world of film, last year he wrote the screenplay for the Kickstarter funded, Lindsay Lohan and James Deen vehicle, The Canyons.

Now it looks like he wants to work with Kanye on his next cinematic project. West and Ellis first crossed paths last year, when West recreated a scene from the American Psycho movie to promote his latest album, Yeezus.

Ellis was given an advanced copy of the album when the two met and after he had listened to it he decided that it would be good for him and West to work together on a movie project, although he was hesitant at first:

“He came and asked me to write the film. I didn’t want to at first. Then I listened to Yeezus. It was early summer last year and I was driving in my car. He’d given me an advance copy, and I thought, regardless of whether I’m right for this project, I want to work with whoever made this. So fuck it, I said yes. And that’s how it happened.”

Although it has been a few months since the initial meeting between the two of them, Ellis has confirmed that the script is in “Kanye Land, and that’s subject to a whole other time frame”. I would seriously like to see what Kanye Land is like, it is most probably a crazy place to visit!

The full interview from Vice, can be found here

Leave a Reply

