The Preacher Television Show Is A Bad Idea

Preacher

Yesterday it was officially announced that Preacher was coming to the small screen. Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg are set to be the main creative pair behind the show, with Sam Catlin, who was previously involved with Breaking Bad also teaming up with them to help write the pilot episode.

Now I first want to state, that I don’t think this TV show is a bad idea because I am not a fan of Preacher. This is far from the case. I love the source material; some of my most prized possessions are my first edition issues of the comic.  Also, I am a huge fan of Rogen’s and Goldberg’s work and will always check out their latest offerings, and when you have anyone that was involved in one of the greatest television shows ever involved, I will certainly go it a watch.

However, I just don’t think an adaptation of Preacher is going to work. It is one of the most bat-shit insane comics ever written and because of that, trying to get it work for a television show is going to be a problem. Some may argue that because The Walking Dead worked so well, why can’t others? Because at the end of the day, The Walking Dead is quite a simple premise, albeit one that needs a lot of special effects (I am not knocking either the comic or the TV version of The Walking Dead because I am a huge fan of both of these as well), and Preacher encompasses so much more; the scale and scope of the story is just massive.

Famed comic writer, Alan Moore, stated that the reason he works in comics and doesn’t like people adapting his work is because that is the medium that he chose to work in and if he wanted any of his work to be on film, he would of originally done it that way (I am paraphrasing him here with these comments, but I hope you get the general jist). I feel this works with Preacher as well, although creators Garth Ennis and Steve Dillon have never come out and said that they are completely opposed to their work being adapted. It is because of the way the story is constructed and the characters involved that it all works so well in a comic book.

I am not going to go into all of the plot of the comic here, because that would just take far too long, and if you haven’t already read it I cannot recommend it enough. Seriously, go out and pick it up as soon as you can. It is one of the most ridiculous and amazing things you will ever read; and you will be able to comment on the TV show when it finally comes out and see how much they have changed. I will say though, they are going to have to try and keep some of the big plot details the same, because Rogen, Goldberg and Catlin will take away everything that makes Preacher brilliant if they do. I seriously want to see how they are going to a get a man fucking a giant meat woman onto our screens! There are some quite deep issues that get touched upon in the comic, and people are going to have to go into the show with a very open mind, because straight away it starts off with a preacher (hence the title!) being the host for the offspring of an angel and a demon. If people aren’t willing to accept that, they are going to struggle with the rest of the show!

Maybe my reluctance to get excited for this project is over my nerves as to how it could turn out. Only time will tell if the end product is as good as the original comic and I will be able to look back on this article and laugh over my fears, or maybe they will be proved right and they should have just left Preacher alone.

One thought on “The Preacher Television Show Is A Bad Idea

  1. Pingback: Evan Goldberg Talks About Preacher | Blog The Blummin' Doors Off

Leave a Reply

